Come see – make do at MRAG. It is our ambition to show 1000s of artworks, create 100s of learning activities across 25 exhibitions annually, and care for the most shared art collection in NSW. More than 65,000 people visit us annually because of what we do and how we do it.
The building is as much a part of the experience as the artworks on display. Located on High Street at the eastern end of Maitland's City Centre, and officially opened in 1910 as a Technical College, the original Federation Gothic building was designed by Government Architect Colonel W. L. Vernon and is renowned for its structural features, which are of statewide significance.
MRAG now offers several diverse exhibition spaces, meaning we can show a lot of art from hear and far. Guided by a strategic focus to acquire works on paper, the MRAG Collection has expanded to number more than 4400 items by Australian and international artists. To complement and extend MRAG’s vibrant exhibition program, a variety of inclusive and creative activities connect you to the artists, collaborators and community organisations we engage with.
Gallery entry is always free, and everyone is always welcome! Stop by to meet friends, have a coffee, and bring the children for our free drop-in activities.
All public areas within the building can be reached by stairs and lift, and our fully accessible, well-maintained public amenities are conveniently located on the Ground Floor for use during opening hours. Entry to MRAG’s free carpark is via a rear service lane off James Street, and includes two dedicated disabled parking spaces.For information regarding exhibitions; events and hours of operation please visit www.mrag.org.au.