Search Articles Home Online Catalogue

Write Now!

Kids Zone > Write Now!

Write Now! winners for 2017 announced

The winners of the 2017 Write Now! Children's Literary Award have been announced at the annual presentation night at East Maitland Library on 23 August.


Congratulations to our winning entries  
Stage 1 Lily Szabo
Nillo Infants school 
Stage 2 Claire Thompson
Hunter Valley Grammar School
Stage 3 Oscar Duggan
Iona Public School
Congratulations also to the highly commended  
Stage 1 Harry McCosker
Vacy Public School
Stage 2 Lilu Meemaduma
St John the Baptist School Maitland  
Stage 3 Eaden Dawson
Iona Public School


The award is administered by the Friends of Maitland City Library in partnership with Maitland City Library and the University of Newcastle's Faculty of Education

"The aim of the award is to encourage literacy development, foster creativity and promote pride in achievement for children of the local area", said John Brown, Friends of Maitland City Library Chairperson. "It is presented for excellence in creative writing and is open to K - 6 students each year".

Each year entry packages can be collected from any branch of Maitland City Library or downloaded using the links provided. 


The award is presented during Children’s Book Week in August each year.